Celebrating a cruise legacy at Port Saint John

Betty MacMillan wins international award

Betty MacMillan, a tireless champion for cruise tourism on the Canada/New England itinerary has been named Port Personality of the Year by her international cruise industry peers. The long-time cruise development manager at Port Saint John was recognized on September 19th at the annual Seatrade Cruise Awards in Lisbon, Portugal.

The prestigious award was presented to MacMillan for her more than three-decade long effort to grow cruise business at the Port of Saint John. “Thanks to Betty’s persistence and commitment  to cruise excellence over the past thirty years, we’ve seen our cruise file grow from zero to at least 77 calls each year,” said Jim Quinn, President and CEO of Port Saint John, “we’re incredibly fortunate to have world-class talent right here in Saint John.”

New Brunswick’s port city was well-represented at this year’s awards, with Discover Saint John claiming top honours with Marketing Initiative of the Year for their tidal art project with artist Sean Yoro (@the_hula). Claudine Pohl of Aquila Cruise Centre for Excellence picked up shortlist nods in the awards’ top 20 under 40 category.

Highlights from 30 Years in Cruise

« of 11 »

About Port Saint John

Located in the southern part of the province of New Brunswick, Port Saint John is Canada’s third largest port and has a diverse cargo base, handling over 28 million metric tonnes of cargo annually, including dry and liquid bulks, break bulk, and containers.  The geographic position of the port, its naturally hospitable people and historic attractions coupled with world-class tour operators, make Saint John an ideal Atlantic Canadian destination for attracting the world’s leading cruise lines to the Bay of Fundy.

About Seatrade Cruise Awards

Now in their 12th edition, the Seatrade Cruise Awards celebrate the best of international cruise industry success, ambition and innovation. Industry winners are chosen by a panel of industry experts, while the personality awards are selected by Seatrade from nominations submitted.

This post is also available in: French