Assented to on June 11, 1998 during the First Session of the Thirty-sixth Parliament, the Canada Marine Act is “an Act for making the system of Canadian ports competitive, efficient and commercially oriented”. Among other things, the Act establishes the governance model for the board of directors, setting criteria for the qualifications, terms of appointment, eligibility, and other related matters.

Board of Directors

The governing directors of the Saint John Port Authority are appointed by four bodies as follows:

  • Federal government appoints five members, four of which are recommended by port users*
  • Province of New Brunswick appoints one member
  • City of Saint John appoints one member
*A port user is defined as a person (including a partnership, an association, a body corporate or an individual) who makes commercial use of, or provides services at, the port.

Once appointed to the board, members have a fiduciary obligation to represent the best interests of the Saint John Port Authority. The seven members of the board of directors offer a broad range of experience and expertise and have several roles:

  • set direction and guide the port authority in fulfilling our mandate
  • approve the corporate vision, mission, values, and goals
  • set goals and objectives for corporate performance
  • review performance against goals and objectives

Terms are not more than three years. Two re-appointments are permitted for a maximum of nine years. The Code of Conduct establishes clear conflict of interest rules and board members must disclose any potential or real conflicts of interest. The board of directors meets six times per year, usually for one full day. Each director sits on at least 1 committee.  Each committee has its own schedule and the number of committee meeting varies.  Audit Committee meets 5 times per year, other committees meet 1-2 times per year.

Director Recruitment Briefing – April 2019

Code of Conduct – Letters Patent “Schedule E”

This post is also available in: French